MATS: Week 2 – No Vectors! *gasp*

Home Decor Week! In Lilla Roger’s class this week she encouraged us to go outside our comfort zone and experiment in some aspect, whether that be material, medium, style, subject, or some other equally important component that has a profound effect on our work. And to draw pods! Not the type from outer space, but pod-type flowers, seeds, basically anything that was a non-traditional floral, which we would design to go on a series of plates meant for retailers such as Crate & Barrel or Anthropologie. Fancy!

I myself have never been particularly drawn to creating any type of florals so that was the first part of going outside of my comfort zone. I also decided this week I would also not use any vectors in my artwork. ANY. For an artist that has almost exclusively created commercial work in vector form for years, this was a slightly scary goal but I was excited and motivated to put all my energy in to it! After doing some preliminary research and sketches, I first started by playing with marker and watercolor. I really admire those of you who are beautiful water-colorists. I don’t know if it is the right medium for me, but I will keep experimenting to find what works for me. It has been almost ten years since I painted in any form so I think that I did pretty well!

I then started to work with gouache and everything clicked! I had so much fun creating my artwork with this medium and all the tiny details it allowed for. What fun! I definitely felt like it was a breakthrough day when I was working on this set of paintings, didn’t have a second thought to falling back to good ol’ trusty Illustrator 🙂 I’m really excited about what I’ve created so far and look forward to integrating more hand painted artwork in to my portfolio!

Leave a Reply

