Lilla Rogers’s Global Talent Search

If you’ve been reading my posts over the past while, you will know I’ve been taking Lilla Roger’s Studio Class “Make Art that Sells.” It’s been an amazing and inspiring experience! As the perfect follow-up, her agency has been holding a Global Talent Search in which the winner gets an unprecedented prize.. Two years of representation with Lilla Rogers Studio along with exclusive licensing deals with a mega roster of clients. To put this in to perspective, the studio only represents 39 amazing artists in the entire WORLD, so to put another spot up for grabs to the entire creative community is an epic opportunity. If I’m being honest, it’s pretty much *swoon-worthy*!

The first project brief was to create a playground themed journal cover as if Paperchase were our client, including the word “Journal” somewhere on our piece. I thought about my memories of playing in parks and also the collection of antique toys and equipment that were stored at my grandparent’s farm when I was little. All my work, including the lettering was first done by hand with ink and then scanned and cleaned up digitally.  It was fun creating so many different icons, playing with the scale and interplay of the Kraft background paper and the coloring of each.
We have just found out that there are 1500 entries from over 30 countries. Insanity! I can’t imagine how hard of a time Lilla and her team are having whittling the number down for round two. I’ve seen a fair amount of entries, particularly those of my MATS classmates, and all I can say is wow – it will be quite a task! Tomorrow the top 50 are announced, I can’t wait to see all the beautiful work that comes from this. And of course, I wait with bated breath to find my own fate 🙂 Good luck everyone!

Leave a Reply

