Global Talent Showcase

The past few weeks have been full of excitement surrounding The Global Talent Search competition being held by Lilla Rogers’s Studio. The prizes are unprecedented – two years international representation by the studio, in addition to a stunning line up of contracts with highly coveted companies. For round one, entrants were given a project brief in which they designed a journal cover for a client like Paperchase, with an old-fashioned playground equipment theme. There were 1500 (that’s right!!) submissions from all over the world, and on August 1st the top 50 moving on to Round 2 were announced.

Being that there isn’t a public gallery to show off all the amazing creations that did not make it to Round 2, I thought it would be fabulous to have a mini-showcase of some of the “unsemi-finalist” designs and find out a bit more about how each artist created their piece! Please see below to enjoy all the beautiful work 🙂

Artist: LAUREN MINCO

How would you describe your creative style?
Awkwardly Whimsical or Whimsically Awkward

How did your style inform the design of your cover?
I think my major strength is my characters, so I made sure to put a lot of love into their details. Lately I’ve been embracing a more organic line and feel like in my sketches, so I wanted to embrace that kind of wonkiness, like in the skewed horizon line and painterly patterns.

How did you create this piece?
I use acryla gouache on rives BFK paper. Acrya gouache is an acrylic/gouache hybrid. The bottom row of pattern and the left “spine” were painted separately and then photoshopped in.

http://www.laurenminco.com
http://adventuresofminco.blogspot.com

Artist: CAT ATHENA LOUISE

How would you describe your creative style?
Vivid color, bold, playful, whimsical, eccentric, celebrating nature and the spiritual world

How did your style inform the design of your cover?
In this particular piece, all of those things meet… I wanted to create a very different take on the playground theme to how I imagined most of the other artists would be interpreting it. The color, boldness and whimsy speak for themselves here, I took it out into the desert (one of my favourite places) under bright turquoise skies and a blazing golden Sun and brought in the spiritual aspect of what the Mexican Day of the Dead is all about for me; respect for our ancestors, feeding and honouring our departed ones in a really playful way through offerings of flowers (marigolds) music, light and sweet things. I find the Dia de los Muertos iconography rich with symbolism, incredibly compelling and inspiring!

How did you create this piece?
I worked in watercolor paint for this entire piece, from very light washes to rich saturation, I love how watercolor very much has a life of it’s own and can create unexpected patterns and bleeds all adding to the life and character of the piece. I mask out areas to start with and then start layering on the color. Then adding in some very fine details to finish. This piece is very small, it is only a 5″ x 7″ in size (as per the guidelines in the brief we were given) so in a way it felt like I was painting a miniature!

http://www.catathenalouise.com/2013/07/seize-day-lilla-rogers-global-talent.html

Artist: LINDA TIEU

How would you describe your creative style?
I would say cute and eclectic at the moment. I’m still in the process of discovering, learning and growing!

How did your style inform the design of your cover?
For the cover design, I decided to go sketchy and old school as if it was the journal of someone who liked to draw. The dog world theme was completed inspired by my dog, Vash. I would say the design definitely has a cute spin to it!

How did you create this piece?
The design was handdrawn then digitally colored in Photoshop. I often do all digital work, so this is really a new process for me… exploring the possibilities of how to add my handdrawn touch!

http://www.LindaTieu.com

Artist: SAM OSBORNE

How would you describe your creative style?
My style is colourful, textured and geometric – simple, flat shapes with hand drawn and graphic textures and patterns

How did your style inform the design of your cover?
The flat 2-dimensional grid is a great example of my style, there is so much going on in the design that the simplicity of grid structure helps hold everything together and each panel becomes a little story of it’s own!

How did you create this piece?
It was sketched out by hand to begin with to work out structure and relationships and this drawing was then scanned and re-created digitally. The text was freehand drawn in Illustrator and layers of texture and colour were added during production.

http://www.sam-osborne.co.uk/

Artist: SANDRA MEJÍA

How would you describe your creative style?
I grew up believing in fairy tales. I never want to change my way of seeing life, so I paint the animals and people who live in my magical inner worlds. Most of the time, they have big eyes, just like me. My illustrations always start with pencil sketches that are then colored with acrylics, watercolors or digitally. I use a lot of bright colors because that is how I see things in my imagination. I capture moments that are important to me: peaceful and tranquil scenes that incorporate beautiful elements and a constant relationship with nature to become an oasis in a real world that is much more chaotic and violent.

How did your style inform the design of your cover?
I used many colors, but since it was a vintage playground I toned them down a little. I always include animals too, so this was a mixture of the things I love with something I don’t usually do: kids. But I had so much fun doing it!

How did you create this piece?
It all started form a sketch I made of the girl on the horse (pencil sketch), then I did all the figures in illustrator, and shaded them in Photoshop.

http://www.sandramejiaart.com/

Artist: JENNIFER ORKIN LEWIS

How would you describe your creative style?
My creative style is quite intuitive. I usually jump into a project very quickly to get something going and soon after I go into a mini panic stage where I realize everything is all wrong. I regroup, take some deep breaths, go to yoga, do some research and sketching, take a long walk, and start over a few times. Once I have the concept figured out I do a rough sketch, but I love the spontaneity of what happens when I go right into painting. I do have lots of crumpled paper at my feet.

How did your style inform the design of your cover?
Somehow, this time, for the journal, I anticipated the panic stage. Maybe because we had just finished MATS and it was so intense and I was still in that mode of sketching a lot first. I spent a few days just thinking about it and channeling my inner playground, from when I was a kid and from when I went all the time with my son. I spent a day researching and sketching but then I just started in.

How did you create this piece?
I painted all the icons in gouache separately on paper, I started scanning them in when I had 4 or 5 so I could work on layout. As I played in photoshop I came up with more ideas for other icons which I then scanned in. There are so many characters in this but it really fits my minds eye feeling of the joy of the playground . I was first going to have it all in a park like setting but I wasn’t that happy with that layout so I painted the chalkboard ground on kraft paper and wrote my journal with white prismacolor pencil.

http://www.augustwren.blogspot.com/2013/07/global-talent-search.html
http://augustwren.com/

Artist: HOLLAND HAMMOND

How would you describe your creative style?
Aspects of my creative style: humor, serendipity, handmade marks, mystery.

How did your style inform the design of your cover?
I wanted to create a scene with lots of odd creatures busy having fun.

How did you create this piece?
The cover was hand drawn, painted with gouache, and then scanned into Photoshop.

http://www.hollandhammond.com

Artist: PETRA HÄMMERLEINOVA

How would you describe your creative style?
It depends a lot if I work on a project for a special client or on a personal artwork I want to licence later. Often the direction is clearly given in the briefing and doesn´t allow for a wide scope of technique. But in personal work I would consider my art to have a naive, quirky, playful impression with little ironic details. I love to draw animals and children. I focus a lot on the colors and can spend a lot of time playing with them until I am happy with the result. My technique is mostly a mixture of hand drawing, paint and digital art, although some clients demand a strong, vector based graphic solution.

How did your style inform the design of your cover?
Well, I believe you can find all of it there. Children and animals, funny details. A strong composition and color story.

How did you create this piece?
I worked my journal cover in mixed media, this is the style I enjoy most at the moment. Watercolor, black fineliner for the line drawing, ink and feather for some of my hand lettering, old maps to add texture to the background. Everything stirred together in Photoshop. Funny, but I probably spend the most time on the hand lettering. I wanted it to be perfect, although I didn´t hand letter for years. I decided to go for a strong color story, this is why I chose very expressive colors for the main blocking, but limited myself to a few colors only.

http://www.haemmerleinova.de
http://haemmerleinova.wordpress.com/

Artist: PAVINEE SRIPAISAL

How would you describe your creative style?
Cute, whimsical, colorful and merry 🙂

How did your style inform the design of your cover?
The ‘playground’ theme for the journal needs elements of cuteness and something merry to make viewers feel cheerful and happy to write something in it. I try to apply my style of whimsy and colorful story to make it always fresh every time you look at it 🙂

How did you create this piece?
I always start a design project with keywords. I set keywords related to the theme first. Then sketch anything relating to the words. I also try to think of something whimsical that can be connected to the theme during brainstorming. As for this journal, I thought it would be fun to add tea time bakery theme to the existing theme of playground. Kids love sweet dessert and adults too 😀 Then I scanned in my pencil sketch and completed the illustration in Adobe Illustrator.

http://haveamerryday.blogspot.com/

Artist: TRACI BIXBY

How would you describe your creative style?
My creative style is playful, happy and colorful.  I like to make people smile when they see my work.

How did your style inform the design of your cover?
When I started sketching for the journal, I wanted to loosen up and really play with the imagery I had collected.  I did a lot of research and did so many drawings.  That allowed me to play with many images and really bring the ones together I thought would make a playful piece.  I was happy with the icons I chose to bring to full paint.

How did you create this piece?
I drew all of the icons and then finished them in watercolor.  Some had touches of gesso, watercolor pencils and pastel. After scanning them in, I played for quite a while with layout and design.  I ended up going with a repeat pattern.  I hand drew the letters and scanned them in PhotoShop as well.  I then changed them to vector in Illustrator and was able to play with size, color and spacing.  I’m really in love with my icons and can’t wait to make additional pieces using them.

http://www.tracibixby.com

Artist: BARBARA ROSE CHOTINER

How would you describe your creative style?
Whimsical, colorful and modern. My mom was an English teacher and my dad taught Math. I have always seen my process & style as a balance of English (with free flowing line work and numerous ideas) combined with the mathematical cleanliness of vector art.

How did your style inform the design of your cover?
I kept it playful and character driven. I had a few different concepts that I started with. But based on my wanting to incorporate drawings for the artwork, as well as the end client being Paperchase, I chose to go in the playful colored line work direction that I did.

How did you create this piece?
I hand drew the animals with a variety of black markers. Then scanned them in & refined the illustrations and played with the final composition in Illustrator CS6. There is also a subtle background pattern which I created via monoprinting with using acrylic on a gelli plate.

http://bzdesignstuff.com

Artist: JENEAN SUSTARSIC

How would you describe your creative style?
Since my main source of income is from greeting card design, I am kind of a chameleon. I like to try lots of different illustration styles, and choose the one that suits a particular client. I design for children’s product, conventional product, premium or handmade card product, and my first love…humor.

How did your style inform the design of your cover?
In my own personal art, I lean towards zombies, monsters, and voodoo as subject matter. But, always on the lighter side. Kind of a “tongue in cheek” zombie apocalypse!!! I found so many photos of old, rusty, playgrounds while I was searching for reference…that it seemed like a natural fit.

How did you create this piece?
This particular piece was created exclusively in Photoshop. I used paths and a simple brush tool…nothing special. Usually, I would do the linework in ink, and scan it into Photoshop. Just wanted to try something different.

http://www.moonlightingandfriends.com

Artist: APPLE KAUR DESIGNS

How would you describe your creative style?
Hand drawn, fun, bold and colourful – you will see these aspects in a lot of my work.

How did your style inform the design of your cover?
I just wanted the cover to be really fun and bright so the end user doesn’t get bored of using the journal.

How did you create this piece?
As with most of my work, I hand drew and doodled all the elements that made up the final piece and then took them in to Illustrator to tidy them up and colour them in. For this particular design I didn’t really do anything too technical, it was just a case of having fun and fitting together the jigsaw to produce something that is eye-catching.

http://www.applekaur.com/

Artist: SIL SILVA ARAS (AKA SIL FROM PENCILORY)

How would you describe your creative style?
Dreamy, joyful and with a bit of innocent adult view?

How did your style inform the design of your cover?
I tried to follow a vintage style, but I did not achieve it so far. I wanted a scene of a playground as an instant photography, full of joy.

How did you create this piece?
I hand drew every piece with pencil and ink, except for the backgrounds. I did more pieces than I really used. I scanned one by one and coloured digitally on Photoshop. Then I’ve just played a lot with backgrounds, (lots of scanning once again) and different compositions. The final background is an old Formica pad (to cut bread) that I bought for this occasion in a thrift shop.

http://pencilory.blogspot.com/
http://pencilory.com

Artist: GILLIAN MARTIN

How would you describe your creative style?
Surprisingly hard to describe my creative style! I guess it depends on the job partially, and where I am in terms of exploration and experiment! I have a ‘bookish’ style which I use for ELT publishing which has been my bread and butter really for a few years now. But I have other more graphic styles for certain jobs! I love to paint too, and that is usually abstract, just color. So…I would describe my creative illustration style as graphic, figurative, a love of line and color with a 50’s vibe.

How did your style inform the design of your cover?
For the GTS project, I focused on my memories of childhood playgrounds where my brother and I spent many happy hours. I really enjoyed making that image. It seemed like a really good fit for what I love to illustrate, children and animals! I like symmetry and a good balance of color, so I think that was quite important in the execution of the piece for me.

How did you create this piece?
I drew out the various elements that I wanted to include with pen and ink then scanned them in and worked on them in Photoshop. I like to include bits of photographs or textures which I either scan in or find on the internet.

http://gillianmartinillustration.weebly.com/
http://www.artmarketillustration.com (Agent)

Artist: JULIE HAMILTON

How would you describe your creative style?
My style is constantly evolving. I love to draw and I love to collage and play around with mixed media. I am slowly learning to incorporate the two into my digital world.

How did your style inform the design of your cover?
I wanted my journal cover to have a playful, handmade, collage feel to it. I drew all of my textures and motifs and then scanned them into I illustrator where I just had fun playing around with them in layers.

How did you create this piece?
A little bit of sketching, some handlettering, a bit of stitching. I scanned my work into Illustrator and then worked with all the elements in layers.

http://www.artisticallyafflicted.com

Artist: CHERISH FLIEDER 

My creative style is expressed with multiple mixed-media techniques, in which I aim to include a healthy dose of beauty and whimsy in everything I make. My style, which is under rapid development, guided this journal cover as it help me select images for this project. I chose to celebrate the simple memories I have from my playground days, which were mostly spent on the swings chatting with friends and enjoying the outdoors. I wanted some of the images to be painted very loose and playfully, while others are more sophisticated and elegant. I used watercolor paints, markers and Adobe Illustrator to create my icons. Next, everything was assembled in layers using Adobe Photoshop. I also chose to unify my colorful imagery with a warm glow. The unusual turquoise sky symbolizes an impending summer afternoon thunderstorm that was always a treat I experienced growing up on the Colorado plains near the majestic Rocky Mountains in the distance.

Life is a GIFT, make it Something to Cherish®

Artist: MEGAN K. BALL

How would you describe your creative style?
My style is fun, cute, light-hearted, hand-drawn and “doodly”. It makes people smile, reminds them of people they love, and makes them feel like a kid again.

How did your style inform the design of your cover?
My cover design has the cute, hand-drawn icons and elements that are typical of my style. The playground theme we were given was an extra bonus, as it coordinated well with the “feel-like-a-kid-again” subject matter I usually draw. I did push myself out of my comfort level a bit when I decided to make the layout more pattern-like and graphic than I’ve done in the past. It was my intention to have the journal be reminiscent of a kaleidoscope; I wanted it to look like a cool, nearly abstract design from far away, only to reveal fun, recognizable playground icons as you got closer.

How did you create this piece?
This design, like all of my work, began with a piece of paper and a Sharpie pen. I hand-draw all of my designs and then scan them into my computer where I digitally edit and color them with Adobe Illustrator.

http://www.BuckAndLibby.com


Artist: JOANNE HUS

How would you describe your creative style?
Graphic, bold, simple shapes (although after MATS, I am incorporating both the obviously digital and the more “handmade,” even if it’s all digital!)

How did your style inform the design of your cover?
I used a lot more layers than I usually do (incorporated hand lettering in the background, for example). I chose not to include any characters, so I created a visual rhythm with the color blocks, and the repeated motif of the hopscotch board. In keeping with the hand drawn motif, each hopscotch board is unique.

How did you create this piece?
Everything started out as hand drawn or hand lettered in black ink on white. These drawings were then scanned in and vectorized in Illustrator, colored, and layered.

http://joannehus.com/blog/


Artist: JENNIFER MCDONOUGH

How would you describe your creative style?
I would describe my style for this piece in particular as whimsical with fairytale undertones. My typical style emanates from a strong classic drawing background. My typical illustration has a rather gothic, Dark, edgy tone with decorative elements to lend more romantic undertones.

How did your style inform the design of your cover? My goal with this piece was to create an image that is sweet, nostalgic, dreamy in content and then textural with dimension with regard to the mixed mediums.

How did you create this piece?
I created the image using washy acrylic on a textured canvas and sepia tone line work in background. I wanted the journal to have a die cut oval where the little sits on her swing (created in photoshop). I created the border using real buttons to bring more color and dimension to the overall look. I added the tassel book mark at the end to complete the look.

Artist: TARA DAAVETTILA

How would you describe your creative style?
I would describe my style as freestyle hodgepodge working traditionally.  Sometimes I use vintage wallpapers and other times I use household items to make patterns and textures.  Before Lilla I focused on interior still life paintings but now I’m really going to focus on putting together bolt fabric and wall décor designs.  Super excited.

How did your style inform the design of your cover?
I am a passionate DIY-er and love to find old household items and paint or repurpose them, give them a new life.  I feel like I can’t stop thinking outside the box.  I found with Lilla’s assignments finally having a focus or direction turned my “outside the box” thinking for decorating into “outside the box” thinking for my artwork hence my painting of a girl looking through binoculars piece for the GTS.

How did you create this piece?
I used a 24″square ceiling tile to paint on, acrylics and markers, vintage wallpaper for her dress and a round silver plated bracelet piece.  My colors were inspired by a book “I Can Fly” illustrated by Mary Blair.  Thanks to the help of fellow MATS students I was able to figure out how to paint big, reduce and use PS to tweak and submit.  (Thanks guys!!)

http://www.etsy.com/shop/canvaspics
http://canvaspics.blogspot.com/

Artist: JOCELYN FRIIS

How would you describe your creative style?
Hand drawn, painterly, free style

How did your style inform the design of your cover?
I wanted to convey a free spirit in my design – just as a child goes about life. I enjoy freedom in my art!

How did you create this piece?
I sketched out a basic concept by hand but then decided to use my wacom to digitally draw the outlines in Illustrator. I then switched over to Photoshop to add the color and overlays.

http://www.newcreationzart.com


Artist: KARMA VOCE

How would you describe your creative style?
Constantly evolving/undefined ?! lol. In this case it is vector driven with a Vintage-reborn vibe (or at least that’s what I intended)!

How did your style inform the design of your cover?
Ooh, this is a tricky question- I don’t know if it did, I am still defining my personal style, this was just was how it came out. It’s a very organic process, it just evolves as I work on it. I guess I really love the natural/eco feel of brown Kraft paper, and using a limited palette in combination with it, meant I was able to get a vintage feel, whilst still feeling quite contemporary. If that makes any sense! I also wanted dynamic characters.

How did you create this piece?
For this brief I hand sketched a playground scene, then scanned that in and traced and evolved it from there in illustrator. I also created textures with oil pastels and scanned them to add some depth.

http://www.karmavoce.com


Artist: ERICA HITE

How would you describe your creative style?
This is the hardest question for me to answer right now as I’m still trying to figure this out. When I illustrated my journal cover, I really enjoyed the textured and mottled technique. I also loved creating the boy and girl characters. I’d like to create a lot more like them. I love their little spindly legs and tiny shoes.

How did your style inform the design of your cover?
I was experimenting with a new style when I made the cover. I enjoyed it so much, I’m going to keep going with it for awhile.

How did you create this piece?
First, I sketched my characters and icons with a mechanical pencil in my moleskine sketchbook. Next, I scanned them in. Then, I drew over the sketches in Illustrator. And last, I brought all the shapes into Photoshop to add lots of texture with artsy brushes.

http://www.ericahite.com


Artist: ASHLEY LOTECKI

How would you describe your creative style?
Although my style is constantly evolving, I would describe my work as fluid and organic, asymmetrical and quirky. I love integrating hand lettering with whimsical objects and characters! I always try to create pieces that have a sense of movement and are visually stimulating.

How did your style inform the design of your cover?
I played with the weight of the outlines in my original inked drawings in order to give a more organic and fun hand-drawn quality to the collection of motifs. This was the same thought process when I was illustrating the shapes of all the playground equipment, giving them asymmetrical and curvy edges. I really wanted the individual illustrations to have a sense of “character” and life, without putting an actual face on each object.

How did you create this piece?
After my initial research, I started with the hand lettering for the word “journal” because I wanted it to be a focal point and build around it. All the hand lettering and motifs were first drawn roughly in pencil and then inked by hand and scanned in. The artwork was converted in to vectors and cleaned up, keeping as much of the hand drawn quality from the original artwork as possible.

https://ashleyloteckidesign.wordpress.com/
http://ashleylotecki.com/

Artist: SHERRY LONDON

How would you describe your creative style?
I am a digital artist specializing mostly in Photoshop work. I use my own photos as the base of my work and composite and build up textures from that.

How did your style inform the design of your cover?
I wanted vintage playground theme so I went back to photos of my son on his swing set in 1973 and brought in multiple images and removed and added things to the original.

How did you create this piece?
I worked exclusively in Photoshop. I cut out the area of the main image I wanted to use. I used blend modes and textures and enhanced the color to make the composite look the way I wanted it to. There are pieces of seven different photos embedded in the image. I use a lot of changes in opacity settings along with layer masks and smart objects to both keep my image non-destructive so that everything could be altered at any point in the process and allow me to fade images into and out of focus.

http://patternpatter.com
http://digitalrepeats.com
http://sherrylondon.com

Artist: KATE MASON

How would you describe your creative style?
I guess my style is childlike, whimsical, colourful & a bit quirky, mixed media illustration.

How did your style inform the design of your cover?
I can’t say I was ecstatic about the playground theme but I of course wanted to give it everything I could. I do love piecing collaged paper forests & houses together so decided to start with that concept.  I then quickly developed the idea of fitting in a whole layered playground “world” starting from cloudy sky, forest, lake etc. through the playground right down to the entrance gates.

How did you create this piece?

I didn’t want to stray from my normal method of traditional art making so after lots of sketching & working out the logistics I went into watercolour painting overdrive and created something like 16 individual playground paintings + the playground entrance gates. The sky, clouds city & forest were all collaged & painted into a large canvas.  I scanned all my elements in, did a little editing & brought it all together in Photoshop.

http://katemason.blogs.com/

32 thoughts on “Global Talent Showcase

    • Thank you so much Cat! I’m glad I got to show off everyone’s fabulous work and I was more than happy to feature you 🙂

  1. WoW! I can’t believe how much amazing work was entered into this competition, I don’t feel quite so bad about not making it through when i see the level of talent alongside me! these are some beautiful pieces or artwork, good luck everyone in the next stages of your art journey 😉

    • I think that there were hundreds of submissions that could have easily been in the top 50, it was really just the criteria of the specific agency needs that determined who was better suited (as opposed to good or bad work). So much beautiful and unique work was created for the GTS, it is just mind-blowing! Your cover was very cute Wendy 🙂

  2. Gorgeous Journal covers. I’m totally in love with Sandra Mejia’s cover, the illustration is just devine! I love the red hair too, fabulous shade 🙂

    • I totally agree with you! Sandra’s work is completely stunning, I would definitely recommend checking out her website!

    • You are welcome!! I agree, I love hearing about the processes. Everyone is so different in how they work and it just makes looking at their piece even more interesting 🙂

    • I really don’t know how you got it down to 50! It seems like an impossible task 🙂

      Love you Fairy Godmother! xox

  3. This is great. Can’t imagine how the judges will go about choosing. WOW! I wasn’t able to enter because I have an agent! Good luck everyone. What a fantastic opportunity!

  4. Pingback: Global Talent Showcase – Part Two | Ashley Lotecki

Leave a Reply

