Global Talent Showcase – Part Two

I recently did a showcase of fabulous journal cover designs from some of the “unsemi-finalists” (those that didn’t progress to round two) in Lilla Roger’s Global Talent Search competition. It didn’t take long to realize there was so much more beautiful work than could be contained in a single post! For this reason I have created a Global Talent Showcase Part Two 🙂 Please enjoy all the amazing creations below and learn more about each artist and their design process.


Artist: MONIKA SUSKA

How would you describe your creative style? 
I’m children’s illustrator and usually I work on pictures books and similar project so my style is “kids friendly”. Generally I love creating intricate scene with magical atmosphere.

How did your style inform the design of your cover? 
I was thinking about potential clients and instead of one scene (what I normally do) I challenged myself to create several icons in limited color palette.

How did you create this piece? 
First I spent a lot (!) of hours sketching and brain storming. This theme gave endless possibilities to interpretation so decision what type of composition, characters colored etc use was the toughest step. Once I made decision I sketch everything on paper, painted with acrylics and made a scan. Next I cut all elements from background, made some final amends, added some lines and bubbles and arrange everything together in Photoshop.

http://monikasuska.pl/
https://www.facebook.com/monikasuskaillustration

Artist: PAUL STODDARD

How would you describe your creative style? 
Whimsical, colorful, and playful

How did your style inform the design of your cover? 
I was experimenting with a new style for this assignment. I started an ornament company with my wife a few years back where we make handmade polymer clay holiday ornaments, so I really wanted to combine our 3-D clay work as well as 2-D illustrations.

How did you create this piece?
The girls face, arms & legs were created with clay and painted then attached to a shadow box that I painted and embellished. After attaching a cut out for the journal words, I photographed the girl and the shadowbox. All the other illustrations were created using pen and ink and then scanned. I then brought all the elements into Photoshop and designed the cover, adding text and color.

www.swirlydesigns.com
https://www.facebook.com/Swirly.Designs

Artist: JINSEY KAPPLOW

How would you describe your creative style?
Kawaii, flat colors, character-driven, a little 50’s influenced

How did your style inform the design of your cover?
My first thought was to unify the geometric shapes of the equipment, so I decided on an isometric perspective. Then I tried to make some children as cute as humanly possible. I made the girl on the bench’s head too big, but at least I gave her green hair- that’s a must!

How did you create this piece?
Illustrator,  Wacom tablet

http://jasartist.com/

Artist: ANNE WATERS

How would you describe your creative style?
I have a hand rendered style. I love to sketch everything first, then scan and colour the design digitally. My designs usually have a linear lace like effect laid over shapes and layers.

How did your style inform the design of your cover?
I stuck with my style while trying to meet the briefs description, it feels best that way, so it has the linear sketches overlaying bold colourful shapes. I had fun with the colours and tried to make it as bright and cheery as I could.

How did you create this piece?
First, I did a quick research online for old fashioned playground equipment. I then started sketching what I liked and started scanning all my images into Illustrator. Then it was a matter of arranging all the elements until I felt I reached a balance, sounds simple enough but it took me hours!

www.annewatersdesign.com
www.annewatersdesign.com/blog/

Artist: KIMBERLY KLING

How would you describe your creative style?
My creative style is fun, uplifting, whimsical, quirky, colorful, and a tad wonky. I like to create interesting, and sometimes mysterious characters that have personality and also enjoy working with patterns and color. I’d say it’s also constantly evolving.

How did your style inform the design of your cover?

I’m still a big kid and approach the world with a lot of wonder and exploration…perfect for this brief, right? I knew my cover had to include some quirky and cute characters because I enjoy creating them so much!  I’m interested in the melding together of folk inspired art and modern art, so I’d say that also influenced the characters and design. Additionally, I love playing with pattern and had fun including patterns into the animals to add a bit more pizazz.

How did you create this piece?

The final design was a process of trial and error and learning some new techniques (which I ended up loving). I started with a rough sketch and brought it into Illustrator CS3. Then I began tracing and modifying elements to develop a composition that felt right to me. Once that was done, I got a critique from some friends, and we all felt it needed some more depth and texture, so I brought it into Photoshop. I overlayed a photograph of a wrinkled piece of paper to add some texture, and then used the brush tool and multiple layers to add more depth and warmth. Voila!

http://www.joyfulroots.com
http://www.etsy.com/shop/joyfulroots

Artist: KARENA COLQUHOUN

How would you describe your creative style?
I like to think of it as contemporary, but I reference the past and my own childhood influences quite a bit. I think there’s a blend of light-heartedness and melancholy in my work, and I hope that some wit and humour comes across to. I use a blend of digital and traditional media, and have a fairly meticulous, precise style with an emphasis on pattern, line and texture.

How did your style inform the design of your cover?
Most of the time I use line work in my illustrations, mainly because I often work with a limited colour palette and use line and pattern to define details. This time I chose to broaden my range of colours out a bit and not use outlines in that way. My aim was to reference mid-20th century children’s book illustration, but to keep it modern and true to my own style. I started off with the idea of incorporating the word “Journal” into a wrought iron gate, and the rest grew from there. I use textures a lot, so finished off with some subtle paint and textile textures.

How did you create this piece?
I started off with pencil and paper – some rough layout sketches, then drew all of the elements I wanted to include (some of these I didn’t end up using, and others I added as the composition started coming together). Then I scanned my sketches and used them as reference in Illustrator. Finally I added some subtle texturing in Photoshop, by scanning in some ink and paint textures (using a sea sponge and block prints) and an old book jacket.

http://magicjelly.com.au/

Artist: SOFIE KENENS

How would you describe your creative style?
My main goal is to create illustrations that put a smile on your face. I would describe my style as colorful, merry and detailed. I love adding subtle patterns and a little bit of humor in my illustrations.

How did your style inform the design of your cover?
First of all I wanted a creative approach on the subject. The briefing said “feel free to interpret the assignment in any way you like”. So after half an hour of brainstorming I finally came up with an idea. I wanted to show a girl (she’s such a hero!) who frees a playground-toy (the bird-on-a-spring) from the playground together with her winged little helpers. A little bit of sketching in the sun, warming up the scanner and I was “good-to-go”. For this piece I’ve used a different technique in Photoshop. By using other brushes than normally, I tried to give the illustration more of a painterly effect. The cover has now less of a “computer”-feel to it. And I think I’m going to use this technique for a while now.

How did you create this piece?
Phase 1: Like always I’ve started with a sketch. After finishing it, I’ve scanned the sketch, so I could start digitalising the illustration.  // Phase 2: I’ve started vectorising the sketch of the illustration in Adobe illustrator. In this phase I mostly work in black & white outlines. For me, it’s much easier to work this way.  // Phase 3: In this phase, I’ve added some color to the illustration. The illustration looked rather “flat”. So it was time for some fine-tuning in Adobe Photoshop.  //  Phase 4: After loading the vector-illustration in Adobe Photoshop, I’ve added shadows, depth, patterns and so on to the illustration… et voila! Finished!

www.studiosofie.com
www.facebook.com/studiosofie

Artist: CHIARA VERCESI

How would you describe your creative style?
Colorful, solid, geometric. If I just could I drew cities and maps at least once a day.

How did your style inform the design of your cover?
I keep on working on my style every day and here I tried to melt up all my passions: architecture, art history, solid and geometric shapes and bright colors. Since the brief let us free to choose the target (children or adult) and also to choose whether to use human figures/any kind characters or not, I thought it could be a good chance to do something different. I spent good time trying to figure out how the famous Escher waterfall could have been turned into a vintage playground. It was my first “quotation” but I enjoyed doing that artwork and I’m thinking about a small series based on the Escher quotations. Sometimes is nice trying to give your personal view of something you love so much.

How did you create this piece?
I’m used to think with pencil & paper so I always start drawing on a sketch book, then I rebuilt the whole structure with Adobe Illustrator CS5 and coloured everything with Adobe Photoshop CS5.

http://www.behance.net/chiaravercesi

Artist: FERAL PONY

How would you describe your creative style? 
Playful and imaginative. I love creating characters, especially humorous ones. I’m into concise line work but I enjoy paint too. And I mainly work in traditional media.

How did your style inform the design of your cover?
Well my work is character driven so I knew I wanted engaging characters to be the central focus. I thought about my own childhood experiences on the playground and the idea of best friends. I was going for a super happy fun playtime vibe and drew two friends about to jump off of swings together. I wanted to incorporate a jump rope into the lettering. I added the background pattern to reinforce the jump rope imagery. Background patterns are not part of my usual style but Lilla’s class really encouraged me to work every part of the image, and to not use polka dots which I so wanted to use there!

How did you create this piece?
I made a lot of sketches, then thumbnails until I hit on the right composition. I drew a final version at twice the size of the required file, I like to work a bit larger. Then I painted with watercolors and gouache.  For the background I scanned line drawings into vector and added color.

http://www.feralpony.com

Artist: LAURA STANKE

How would you describe your creative style?
It’s a bold line art style done on real paper with a real pen. There is added value when you can see that the human hand has played a role in this. I’m very interested in creating line quality that can’t be created on a computer. I let my pen lead the way which usually leads to the funny. I’ve always said I’m really good at drawing bad.

How did your style inform the design of your cover? 
I was recently in NYC and began with classic park elements like a bandshell, barbershop quartet and a quirky guy on stilts. I drew all ages of park users and also showed modern activities like rollerblading and basketball. Because this is a journal, I added a pen and ink bottle to relate it to writing and create a dynamic visual composition.

How did you create this piece? 
I hand draw elements using a Staedtler Mars Graphic 3000 Brush Marker. Then I take a photo (I don’t have a scanner anymore) and clean up the line art in Photoshop. I then create vector art in Illustrator using Live Trace. I arranged the art elements and added color in InDesign.

http://ohmydoodle.blogspot.com/
http://ohmydoodle.blogspot.com/2013/07/lilla-rogers-global-talent-search.html

Artist: JANET BROXON

How would you describe your creative style? 
I’ve been working a lot lately on really finding a creative style that works best for me. I use to hand paint everything and work more illustrative, stylized and whimsical. But it was a slow process and my style stayed kind of stagnant for years. Lately, I’ve been seeking to update it some and am finding I’m still drawn to the whimsical but with a little more of a bohemian feel, experimenting a lot with patterns, collage, computer layers etc.

How did your style inform the design of your cover? 
For this cover, being a playground theme, I knew I wanted it to be fun, lively and imaginative. All the things a playground brings out in you. So, I actually went back to a more illustrative, whimsical style for this one, but incorporated the computer a little bit more.

How did you create this piece?
I drew everything first with black ink, then scanned it all in and painted and layered in Photoshop.

www.janetbroxon.com

Artist: CHELSEY HOLEMAN

How would you describe your creative style? 
Bright, colorful and cute are often my go to descriptive words. Color is important to me and I always take great care in the ones I pick. I primarily illustrate animals and children with happy/pleasant themes. I’ve also noticed that I tend to use round, somewhat chunky shapes in my work based upon personal preference. Overall, I hope to make people say “Aww..” when they see my work.

How did your style inform the design of your cover?
I knew I wanted several characters present on the page with a subtle pattern or design that was sporadic in between them. I’ve been playing around with texture brushes lately and in this illustration, I combined my two different ways of rendering. Crisp shapes (like the kitties) and textured brushes(the chalk).

How did you create this piece?
It all started with some concept doodles in my sketchbook. From there, I rendered the kitties in Illustrator, then placed them into Photoshop where I worked out the rest using various texture brushes.

http://chelseyholeman.com/
https://twitter.com/ChelseyHoleman
http://chelseyholeman.tumblr.com/

Artist: NADJA SARELL

How would you describe your creative style?
My style is strongly based on three things close to my heart: colour, rhythm and movement.

How did your style inform the design of your cover? 
I was in the countryside enjoying summer holidays, so I wanted to create something from my own childhood memories of playing outdoors. Dancing and movement were the key elements. Then I was thinking about the playground equipment and I kept going back to the good old hopscotch. I used strong colours mixing them with muted and neutral pebbles and sand. As it was summer, the strawberries and flowers were a must!

How did you create this piece?
I started with little thumbnails and notes around playground theme and children. Once I knew what I wanted to include in the cover, I worked on the composition and developed the initial idea and story about the little girl. I painted the original artwork with gouache, which is the technique I enjoy working with at the moment. I prefer “old-fashioned” techniques to computer in my artwork. After I scanned the image in Photoshop, I just checked the colours were as they are in the original artwork and brightened them up a little bit.

http://nadjasillustration.blogspot.ca/
http://nadjasarell.com/

Artist: NICOLE JIN JONES

How would you describe your creative style?
My work is very bright, colorful, and full of pattern. I like bold, hand-drawn lines and intricate details. I doodle a lot, and I love to create surface designs. In my illustration pieces, I like to use simple patterns for texture and interest.

How did your style inform the design of your cover?
I wanted it to be fun and playful. I chose to use graphic shapes that each had their own details and points of interest, but that worked together as a whole through color and composition.

How did you create this piece?
It is a mixture of hand-drawn shapes, which I drew with pen and scanned. I then composed the different elements onto the page in Photoshop and colored digitally. For an in-depth look at my process for this piece, you can go here.

Overall, I was pretty pleased with how it turned out. In hindsight, I think I could’ve designed it better to be more appropriate for a journal cover, but I think it works well as an illustration on its own. I’m still experimenting with my workflow and techniques. Personally, though, I learned a lot by just going through the process. I spent a lot of time brainstorming ideas, working out kinks, and trying to make thoughtful, deliberate decisions–more so than I have done before. It was a great learning experience.

http://nicolejinjones.com/
https://www.facebook.com/nicolejinjones
On Instagram, Twitter, or Pinterest; username: nikijin

Artist: EMILY ROSE LAMBERT

How would you describe your creative style? 

Bold, colourful, textured with surface pattern elements and lots of little details. Cute and friendly!

How did your style inform the design of your cover?

The image is quite typical of my digital style; incorporating handmade textures and strong use of colour. I like making people smile with my illustrations, and a lot of my work involves characters and creatures, so naturally this was the basis of my idea for the journal design. I wanted to make it fun and colourful and based the design on British animals playing in a woodland setting.

How did you create this piece? 
I started by sketching out ideas and ‘thumbnails’ of my design. I then created the final image on Photoshop, using textures I made by hand with paint/mono print and other media.

www.emilyroseillustration.blogspot.co.uk
www.emilyroseillustration.co.uk
On Twitter: @DooferTree

Artist: JOANNE COCKER

How would you describe your creative style? 
I would describe my style as fun, quirky, fresh & contemporary and my strengths are creating inspirational and imaginative designs. I really do design from the heart and I hope this is reflected in my work. I tend to hand-draw a lot of my designs and then I create interesting layouts, adding textures, patterns, typography and lovely colours in along the way.

How did your style inform the design of your cover? 
I really love to create stories within my designs and I am very much into chevron patterns at the moment so I wanted to incorporate these into the design.  I contrasted a fresh and bold colour palette against the brown paper ground to give the design impact, plus, I just absolutely love using brown paper anywhere I can!

How did you create this piece? 
This piece was created digitally in illustrator although I always sketch my ideas and a rough layout first. What was nice about designing this piece was how it evolved and how and all the different playful scenes interlocked with each other. I really enjoyed designing this, it just makes me smile when I see it.

http://www.moyodirectory.com/jojococodesign
www.jojococo-design.com
www.facebook.com/jojococodesign

Artist: EULALIA MEJIA (AKA HAPPY CHINCHILLA)

How would you describe your creative style?
I love drawing colorful detailed worlds, full of playfulness and imagination. I like to use humor, not in a big laugh kind of way, more like something that will bring a smile.

How did your style inform the design of your cover?
For the journal cover I remembered how I used to feel when I was a child. The playground was a place where I was whatever I wanted to be: a superhero conquering the world or an explorer in a safari; so I created characters that would be re-living my experience and dreaming while playing. I used little details and specific colors for each of the girls, creating unique personalities.

How did you create this piece? 
For all my work I do some research, then I start sketching with pencil on paper. I usually have a concept of what I want, and I draw lots of characters and ideas but after a few drawings, things start to take their own way. When I´m happy with my sketches I scanned them and place them in Illustrator. I don´t trace them perfectly, it´s more like free drawing on top of it with the blob brush tool. Now that I have my characters, I start looking for colors and create a composition that I like,  when they are in place I start with the details: shadows, textures and patterns. I create the textures myself with scanned papers, photos of rust, tree barks, sands, and lots of other things I keep in my personal digital library. And that´s what I usually do for all my illustrations.

http://happychinchilla.net/
http://happychinchilla.net/blog/

Artist: SARAH PETKUS

How would you describe your creative style? 
My style fluctuates between folksy and whimsical to feminine and painterly, but nature remains at the heart of all that I do. Whether designing a greeting card with squirrels or painting a still life of antlers and perfume bottles (both current projects of mine), I try to portray nature in an personal and accessible way.

How did your style inform the design of your cover? 
The brief of “vintage playground” brought up memories of hot metal slides and gravel on skinned knees, and my style is far from the urban playgrounds I remember. I wanted to bring a more natural feeling to those memories while keeping it playful, so I drew from my childhood experiences of climbing trees and camping and imagining that my best friends had feathers and fur(and they often did).

How did you create this piece? 
I always use traditional media, and for this design I used a combination of watercolor, ink, collage, and brown packing paper. I did, however, have my first go at using Photoshop to bring in the word journal into it, which I created on a separate piece of watercolor paper, scanned it, and pasted it into the main piece. A big achievement for this technophobe!

http://www.sarahpetkus.com/
http://www.etsy.com/shop/foxhollowart

Artist: TRICIA THARP

How would you describe your creative style? 
Whimsically woodsy with a splash of humor for kids and kids at heart.

How did your style inform the design of your cover? 
I do a lot of doodling in my sketchbook and the cutest critter gets top billing. My hungry bear, and his latest meal, made the cut this time.

How did you create this piece? 
I pulled pencil, pen and gouache sketches from my sketchbook, along with some patterned paper, and threw them into Photoshop. There I can play with composition, size and color. It makes it so easy to try different layouts and color stories.

http://frizzillustration.blogspot.com/
http://www.triciatharp.com/

Artist: REG SILVA

How would you describe your creative style?
My style is very much youth-oriented– fun, casual, brightly-colored, whimsical. I think my work is a reflection of my personality and generally positive outlook in life.

How did your style inform the design of your cover?
When I read that the brief was to design a journal cover as if it were for Paperchase, I jumped at the chance because Paperchase is one of my dream clients. We don’t have any Paperchase stores in my part of the world but I know the look and audience they go for and I thought my style was a good fit, both for the playground brief and Paperchase itself. Initially I planned on illustrating children playing at the playground but decided to go with animals instead, for a broader appeal and to make the piece more fun and whimsical.

How did you create this piece?
I work digitally, but I started out by loosely sketching some ideas of what I want to happen on paper and scanning in my sketches. I then used my drawings as a rough pencil guide for drawing digitally directly in Adobe Illustrator with my drawing tablet.

http://www.wedgienet.net

Artist: SANDRINE HERVY

How would you describe your creative style?
I’m still looking for a strong style but I try to mix hand and computer to draw. I’m inspired by vintage and children’s designs with many colors and simple sketches, a bit of abstract with a portion of graphic. I don’t like to limit my style so sometimes I explore new ways of designing.

How did your style inform the design of your cover?
There are many bright colors, some graphic shapes playing with sketches and vectors – everything that I like to put together and see what result I can get from combining them.

How did you create this piece?
I just thought about the nice moments I spent with my son in colourful playgrounds when he was young. Then I drew what came to mind on multiple pages, took the sketches I preferred and continued to play with them around the other shapes.

www.lamodette.fr

Artist: INE BEERTEN

How would you describe your creative style?
That’s always a hard question for me to answer. I guess my style is colourful, fun, playful, vector drawn with strong, simple, clear graphics.

How did your style inform the design of your cover?
It’s a very intuitive process for me. I did the hand lettering in the jump rope to make it more playful. Of course the playground theme helped a lot too 🙂  I think my design is relatively easy to read because of my simple graphics and I like a lot of contrast. I created my colour palette during the design process, testing different colour combos until it felt right, but as usual I ended up picking vibrant colours in combination with some more neutral colours.

How did you create this piece?
I started with a few very minimal sketches on paper. I don’t always do this, but for creating characters and hand lettering I find it helpful to get the basic shapes on paper before I start in Adobe Illustrator. Then I started drawing the girl and the lettering jump rope in Illustrator, afterwards I added the background and the playground elements and then more and more layers of texture on all the elements. Adding all those layers of texture is definitely one of my recent additions to my work process, I feel it’s giving my work a little bit more depth than it had before.

http://www.inebeerten.be
http://www.zesti.be/?page_id=10

Artist: LISA FIRKE

How would you describe your creative style? 
Whimsical and occasionally surprising. My notion of the obvious choice for some reason is often unexpected for others.

How did your style inform the design of your cover?
I had a very clear vision of the playground as a whole, and filled it with children I remember playing with as a kid. The little girl in the front with her tutu and cowboy boots is very much like my daughter, as well.

How did you create this piece?
The background is painted in gouache and everything else was first sketched by hand and then recreated in vectors. The patterns and textures were also hand painted and then pasted within the shapes, like the tutu, the fur on the dogs, and the dresses on the girls on the slide and the hopscotch court.

http://lisafirke.com
http://lisafirke.com/blog
http://lisafirke.etsy.com/


Artist: VICTORIA JOHNSON

How would you describe your creative style?
My creative style draws heavily on my experiences in New York’s fashion industry. It features contemporary ‘wearable’ palettes and vintage-textile-inspired patterns and textures. I think the imagery is whimsical and illustrative yet geared towards a more sophisticated adult market. I’m often influenced by a mid-century aesthetic (I love the Golden books and Esme Eve) as it lends itself so perfectly to illustrator as a medium.

How did your style inform the design of your cover? 
I tried to illustrate the children in a mid-Century style as the brief specified ‘old-fashioned’ playgrounds. I also tried to make them more of a pattern element than actual characters in themselves. I used a lot of additional pattern elements (the bunting, the florals and butterflies) as I know customers usually like to have a choice of elements with which to create co-ordinates. I think I made a mistake with the colour palette. I usually work in far more feminine (fashion inspired) colours but I over-thought the brief, trying to stick to playground colours, then adding a modern twist with the grey ground. As soon as I submitted it I questioned the palette overall but especially the grey ground.

How did you create this piece?
I used Adobe Illustrator. I love Illustrator because the imagery is so crisp and easy to manipulate, and colours can be changed so easily. I drew straight onto the artboard with a Wacom pen and tablet. I don’t usually do preliminary sketches on paper but have recently started drawing in a sketchbook regularly and am trying to incorporate some hand-drawn elements into my work.

victoriajohnsondesign.com
victoriajohnsondesignblog.blogspot.it

9 thoughts on “Global Talent Showcase – Part Two

  1. Gosh, they’re all so amazing – just goes to show how stiff the competition was – so much talent! I feel honoured that you’ve included mine among them, thanks again! 🙂

    • I can’t imagine how hard a time it would have been to get down to 50.. So many amazing covers! Yours is wonderful, I am so glad you wanted to participate 🙂

    • You are very welcome! I completely agree, there is a huge amount of talent with all the entrants here – I am sure we will be hearing their names more often in the future!

Leave a Reply

