Lilla Rogers MATS Bootcamp – February

ASHLEY_LOTECKI_FEBRUARY-small

In February I started taking part in Lilla Rogers Bootcamp! Each month for six months, we are given a professional project brief and have a few weeks to work on it. At the end of the month, everyone’s designs are showcased on Lilla Rogers actual agency website in a special gallery! Pretty awesome!  Beyond getting to stretch my creative muscles, it is so very lovely to in a new vibrant community and seeing all the new work pop up. If you can believe, there are over 550 other artists!

February’s theme was cuckoo clocks! It was a bit funny, as I had actually been working on a pattern collection with a similar theme. Because of this I needed to consider how I was going to go in an entirely new direction from that as well. I started with doing rough pencil sketches for the mini assignment, basically the “lead up” to the actual design brief from Lilla.

The actual project was to make a phone cover or case using our cuckoo themed artwork. A phone cover has a shape and size that is not suited to all manner of artwork so I decided to create a placement graphic versus doing a repeat pattern of some kind. My design is titled “Double Decker Cuckoo Cottage” 🙂 My interpretation of the cuckoo clock was in a more rustic way, as a woodland cottage and the forested environment it would be found in.

You would not believe the amazing array of adaptations from the group of artists in Bootcamp with me. Wow! I definitely recommend you go and see for yourself, you can check out the February Gallery here on Lilla’s website (mine is on p 5 if you were curious!).

Leave a Reply

