The Great Big Stitched Postcard Swap

This year I’m participating in The Great Big Stitched Postcard Swap for the first time! It’s a really fabulous idea from the mind behind Do What You Love, Beth Kempton, and already in its sixth year. Participants are given a theme, “Celebrate” being this year, and everyone creates a postcard interpreting the idea in their own way. Aside from staying within the theme, the only rule is that it needs to have some type of stitching on it. You are assigned a random partner, could be anyone from anywhere in the world, and mail out your design to them (and vice versa). Pretty cool right?I decided to create all original artwork so it was a bit timely but I’m happy I did it from scratch. I first did some pencil drawings of cake variations and also of the text which was hand lettered. These were then inked up, scanned, and worked on digitally. After I figured out the layout on the computer, I decided to print directly on to my fabric using my home inkjet printer. It’s actually pretty easy, especially if you iron butcher’s paper to the fabric back to stiffen it so it will run through the printer. After few issues with getting it to feed through, I figured out the best process to make it work and it printed with very crisp artwork – yay!

I added hand embroidered details, but didn’t completely fill the artwork with stitches because I thought the interplay of the minimal embroidery and base fabric worked quite nicely. It was a good chance to practice my french knots again šŸ™‚ Once I finished all the stitching, I applied interfacing to the back and did a less complicated design for the other postcard side on felt (I skipped a photo because the front is much more interesting!), finishing up by sewing everything together by machine.

I had fun making this project and I really enjoyed the new experience of using my artwork for a craft like this. I hope my partner enjoys what I’ve created – I can’t wait to see what arrives in my mail box!

6 thoughts on “The Great Big Stitched Postcard Swap

    • Aw, thanks Julie! Honestly, I’ve been worried I wouldn’t be able to get it done if I fully threw myself in to MATS before making it so today was the day! Now I can start getting up to my eyeballs in Christmas šŸ™‚

      Can’t wait to see yours, I know it will be fabulous!

  1. Pingback: The Great Big Stitched Postcard Swap round up {Celebrate} | Do What You Love

  2. Pingback: Christmas Project Reveal – Dollhouse Stocking | Ashley Lotecki

  3. Pingback: The Great Big Stitched Postcard Swap 2014 – “Create” | Ashley Lotecki

  4. Pingback: MOYO Magazine Feature | Ashley Lotecki

Leave a Reply

